YSRCP leaders appeal Speaker to disqualify defectors

Monday, April 30, 2018

YSRCP Legislature Pry leaders on Saturday met Andhra Pradesh Assembly Speaker Dr.Kodela Sivaprasada Rao and formally submitted him a petition seeking disqualification of all the 16 MLAs of their party who defected.

Two MLAs Y.Visweswara Reddy and Buggana Rajendranath Reddy met the Speaker in the evening appealed him to take up the matter expeditiously. They said that 16 MLAs elected on the B form of the YSRCP had switched sides over the last few months without resigning their membership of the House. They said that their action amounts to disqualification of their membership for voluntarily giving up their membership under 2(1)(A) of the 10th Schedule of the Constitution. The Speaker said that he would look into their position. Under the 10th Schedule only the Speaker can decide on disqualifying members and there is no time limit on when he should act and decide on it.

Comment on this story