YSRCP MLAs to boycott AP Winter Assembly Session

Thursday, October 26, 2017

The YSRCP will boycott the next session of the Assembly if 20 of the party MLAs who defected to TDP are not disqualified. They also demanded the Chief Minister to drop the defected MLAs who were given ministerial berths immediately.

The decision was taken at an executive meeting of the party held today at Lotus Pond. Deputy Leader of the Opposition Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy said the strength of his party in the latest Assembly bulletin was shown as 66 even after the 20 MLAs had crossed to TDP. He said that the values of parliamentary democracy were under severe threat as no action had been taken against the defected MLAs. He said that the four defected MLAs who were given ministerial berth were answering questions raised by the YSRCP though they belonged to them.

He further said that the matter would be taken up with the President, Prime Minister and also the Governor. They would be told that the issue of disqualifying the MLAs had been pending with the Speaker for the past one and half years and that the Assembly Bulletin had not removed them from the YSRCP though they were sitting in the treasury benches.

Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy said that this was not the first time the Opposition had boycotted the Assembly and even Chandrababu stayed away when he was the Leader of the Opposition, he pointed out. It may be recalled that YSRCP plans to boycott Assembly session on October 23 and a final decision was taken

Comment on this story