Veteran film director and actor Viswanath wins Dadasaheb Phalke award for 2016

Monday, April 24, 2017

Noted film director, actor Kasinadhuni Viswanath has won Dadasaheb Phalke award for the year 2016 for his contribution to film industry.

The award will be presented to him at a function in Vigyan Bhawan to be held on May 3 by the President of India Pranab Mukherjee. The award consists of a golden lotus, a cash prize of Rs.10 lakh and a shawl.

Viswanath has so far won five National Film Awards for Sankarabharanam, Sagara Sangamam, Swati Mutyam, Saptapadi, Kaamchor, Sanjog and Jaag Utha Insaan. He won the Padma Shri in 1992 and 20 Nandi awards from the Andhra Pradesh State government.

Born on February 19, 1930 to Kasinadhuni Subrahmanyam and Kasinadhuni Saraswatamma at Pedapulivarru Andhra Pradesh, a small village on the banks of River Krishna. Viswanath is married to Jaya Lakshmi and they have three children: Padmavati, Nagendranath and Ravindranath. He has six grand children- Hema, Swarna, Naren, Pranav, Sivani and Krishna Gayatri. His younger cousin, Chandra Mohan is a renowned actor. The legendary playback singer and voice actor. SP Balasubrahmanyam is also his cousin.


Civilian honor

  • Padma Shri (1992), Government of India[24]
  • Dadasaheb Phalke Award (2016).

Honorary doctorate

  • Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University

International honor

  • Prize of the Public at the Besancon Film Festival of France – 1981 for Sankarabharanam[26]
  • 2014 GAMA Life Time Achievement Award

National Film Awards

  • 1980 – National Film Award for Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment – Sankarabharanam
  • 1982 – Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration – Saptapadi
  • 1987 – Best Feature Film in Telugu – Swati Mutyam
  • 1990 – Best Feature Film in Telugu – Sutradharulu
  • 2005 – Best Feature Film in Telugu – Swarabhishekam

Filmfare Awards

  • 1989: Filmfare Best Story Award – Eeshwar

Filmfare Awards South

  • 1974: Best Director – O Seeta Katha
  • 1975: Best Director – Jeevana Jyoti
  • 1982: Best Director – Subhalekha
  • 1983: Best Director – Saagara Sangamam
  • 1986: Best Director – Swati Mutyam
  • 1987: Best Director – Sruthilayalu[27]
  • 1992: Best Director – Aapadbandhavudu
  • 1994: Lifetime Achievement
  • 1995: Best Director – Subha Sankalpam

Nandi Awards

  • 1981: Nandi Award for Best Screenplay Writer - Saptapadi
  • 1986: Nandi Award for Best Director - Swati Mutyam
  • 1987: Nandi Award for Best Director - Shruti Layalu
  • 1992: Raghupathi Venkaiah Award – Lifetime achievement
  • 1995: Nandi Award for Best Character Actor - Subha Sankalpam
  • 2000: Nandi Award for Best Supporting Actor - Kalisundam Raa

Other honors

  • Viswa Vikhyata Darsaka Sarvabhowma
  • Chittor V. Nagaiah Puraskaram

Comment on this story