Union Government announces the first list of 20 Smart Cities

Thursday, January 28, 2016
New Delhi

Union Minister for Urban Development M.Venkaiah Naidu today announced the first list of 20 cities to be developed as Smart Cities.

These cities will be developed wot have basic infrastructure through assured water and power supply, sanitation and solid waste management, efficient urban mobility and public transport, IT Connectivity and e-governance among others. Naidu said that a total of 15.20 million (1.52 crore) citizens had participated in the preparation of the ambitious Smart City plans at various stages.

The list of cities selected as Smart Cities are:

  • Bhubaneswar
  • Pune
  • Jaipur
  • Surat
  • Kochi
  • Ahmedabad
  • Jabalpur
  • Visakhaptnam,
  • Solapur
  • Davanagere
  • Indore
  • New Delhi
  • Coimbatore
  • Kakinada
  • Belgam
  • Udaipur
  • Guwhati
  • Chennai
  • Ludhiana
  • Bhopal

Comment on this story