Two YSRCP MLAs to join TDP

Sunday, March 27, 2016

  • So far, 8 MLAs and an MLC crossed over to TDP
  • Jyothula Nehru and Varapula Subba Rao to join

In an another set back to YSRCP with two of its MLAs Jyothula Nehru of Jaggampet and Varapula Subba Rao (Prathipadu) are likely to join Telugu Desam Party.

Jyothula Nehru, the deputy leader in the Assembly represents Jaggampet constituency. Varapupla Subba Rao was elected MLA in 2004 on Congress ticket and became MLA for the second time in 2014 of YSRCP ticket. Sources said that a final decision of their joining will be taken in a few days to come.

It may be recalled that eight of the party MLAs and one MLC have already defected to TDP. Sources said that more MLAs are likely to defect the party soon at any cost before Ugadi.

Party issues whip::

In the background of eight of its MLAs and MLC defected the party to TDP and speculations are there that more to follow suit, the YSRCP has issued a whip to its MLAs asking them to participate in the discussion on the Appropriation Bill on March 29 and 30 and vote against it. Party release issued on Sunday said that the whip was issued on March 21. YSRCP Legislative Party Secretary R.V.Sujay Krishna Rao has written to the Speaker Kodela Siva Prasada Rao informing him of the same. The release said that all the MLAs are being informed to be present in the House on those two days and participate in the discussion and vote against the Bill. Anybody voting against the party’s decision or not attending the House would amount to defiance of the party decision said the release.

Comment on this story