TDP wins Kurnool and Kadapa MLC elections-live updates

Monday, March 20, 2017

With the results declared so far, Telugu Desam Party won Kurnool and Kadapa seats for the elections that were held in nine constituencies in the State and one MLC in Telangana. The counting for the rest of the seats are underway.

TDP nominee Shilpa Chakrapani Reddy won the Kurnool MLC elections defeating his nearest rival YSRCP candidate Venkata Reddy with a minor majority of 56 votes.

In Kadapa, TDP nominee B.Tech Ravi has won the elections defeating his rival YSRCP candidate Y.S.Vivekananda Reddy with a little margin of 30 votes.

The Nellore MLC Local Authorities Constituency, the TDP defeated the YSRCP candidate by a margin of 87 votes. TDP nominee V.Narayana Reddy secured 465 votes as against 378 polled by YSRCP Nominee Anam Vijay Kumar Reddy. The valid votes were 843 as against the polled votes of 851.

The TDP won all the nine Council seats including six seats unopposed. TDP nominees defeated YSRCP candidates in Kadapa, Kurnool and SPS Nellore LACs election for which were held on March 17. It already bagged Srikakulam, East Godavari, West Godavari (two seats), Anatapuram and Chittoor LACs unopposed.

It may be recalled that former Ministers Satrucharla Vijaya Rama Raju (Srikakulam), Chikkala Ramachandra Rao (East Godavari), sitting MLC Angara Rammohan and Mantena Satyanarayana Raju (West Godavari), B.Rajanarasimhulu alias Dorababu (Chittoor) and Deepak Reddy (Anantapur) were declared elected unopposed in the first week of March.

Jagan Responds:: Responding over the results, YSRCP chief Jagan Mohan Reddy said that TDP president Chandrababu Naidu has purchased the voters. Sarcastically, he said that Chandrababu Naidu has an excellent in ‘Purchase Scheme’. He accused that the he as the Chief Minister has instead of safeguarding the democracy has indulged in purchasing. He also reminded that Chandrababu Naidu was caught red handed when his MLA Revanth Reddy was caught by ACB while bribing Telangana MLC. He expressed his apprehension that he too used the same strategy in the current elections.

March 21, 2017:SETBACK TO TDP:: In East Rayalaseema PDF Candidate Vithapu Balasubramanyam won while in West Rayalaeema constituency Katti Narasimha Reddy won. Balasubramanyam with the support of YSRCP defeated the TDP official candidate Vasudevanaidu by 3,553 votes. In West Rayalayaseema constituency, Katti Narasimha Reddy defeated his TDP rival Bathalapualliah.

Comment on this story