Silpa Mohan Reddy along with supporters joins YSRCP

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

TDP leader and former Minister Silpa Mohan Reddy along with his supporters formally joined YSRCP in presence of its president Y.S.Jagan Mohan Reddy today.

Silpa recalled that he was elected twice under the leadership of former Chief Minister YS Rajasekhara Reddy and joining YSRCP was a sort of homecoming for him. He said he had decided to quit the TDP vexed with its policies. The ruling party was keen on developing Amaravati and adjoining areas while neglecting the Rayalaseema region in genera and the Nandyal constituency in particular.

It may be recalled that Former Minister Silpa Mohan Reddy quits TDP to join YSRCP announced of his decision on June 12, 2017.

It may be recalled here that Silpa Mohan Reddy joined the Congress under the leadership of Dr.YS.Rajasekhara Reddy. He participated in many agitations of farmers between 2000 to 2004 and became the honorary president of Nandi Raithu Samakhya. When Rajasekhara Reddy started the Paadayatra in 2003, he also started in Nandyal constituency. In 2004, he got Assembly ticket and won with a record of 49,500 votes majority over the then TDP Minister NMD Farooq. In 2009 elections once again he won the polls with over 32000 votes on AV Subba Reddy. He was given the portfolio of Housing.

Comment on this story