Proddatur Municipal Chairman post goes to TDP

Monday, May 8, 2017

Following the withdrawal of former municipal chairman V.S.Mukthiar, the election of Proddatur Municipal Chairman Asam Raghurami Reddy of the TDP became unanimous.

Raghurami Reddy, brother-in-law of former MLA N.Varadarajulu Reddy was backed by 31 counsillors of the ruling TP and was declared unopposed.

YSRCP MLA of Proddatur Rachamallu Sivaprasada Reddy and councillors of the party stayed away from the election, after holding a meeting at the MLA’S residence.

It may be recalled that the election was postponed two times in the recent past amidst pandemonium with the rival groups in the TDP vying with each other to elect their nominee. The election was necessitated by the resignation of municipal chairman Gurivi Reddy after being in office for two and a half years and handing over charge to vice-chairman Zabiullah khan. The resignation came in accordance with an agreement between the TDP during municipal elections that he and Raghurami Reddy would share the five year term.

Comment on this story