President election on Monday – Jagan and Chandrababu to cast their first vote

Sunday, July 16, 2017

  • Polling from 10am to 5pm
  • 174 MLAs and 1 MP to cast their vote
  • The value of each MLA vote is 159 and for MP it is 708 with total value of votes 53,154
  • Counting of votes on July 20 and the Pranab Mukherjee term ends on July 24.

The President elections will be held on Monday across the country with Ramnath Kovind contesting as NDA candidate while Meera Kumar is contesting with the support of opposition parties.

Elaborate arrangements have been made at AP Assembly at Velagapudi. The polling will be held in secret ballot system. The counting of votes will be taken up on July 20.

Two compartments have been established in the Assembly to facilitate the MLAs/MPs who come more at a time. Senior IAS officer Kauldhar is the election observer. With the TDP and YSRCP supporting Ramnath Kovind, the polling would be on one side since there are no representatives from Congress.

The first vote would be cast by YSRCP president Jagan Mohan Reddy and Nara Chandrababu Naidu from TDP.

Comment on this story