Operation Aakarsh – Araku MLA Sarveswara Rao likely to join TDP

Sunday, April 24, 2016

YSRCP Araku Valley MLA Kidari Sarveswara Rao is likely to join the TDP. He told to media on Sunday that he was discussing the issue with his followers and would follow their advice.

In another development, former MLA Gandi Babji will be meeting his supporters at Sabbavaram on Monday to decide his future course of action. Both Sarveswara Rao and Babji are close followers of senior political leader Konathala Ramakrishna who quit the YSRCP along with Babji after the general elections.

It may be recalled that Araku MP Kothapalli Geetha who won on YSRCP ticket has aligned herself with the TDP. Sarveswara Rao like Paderu MLA Giddi Eswari vociferously opposed bauxite mining the line with the YSRCP stand.

Addanki MLA Gottipati Ravi Kumar has already decided to quit and join the TDP. He will formally join the TDP in the presence of Chandrababu Naidu either on April 27 or 29 according to sources. He is the second YSRCP MLA to join TDP in Prakasam district after Yerragondapalem MLA P.David Raju.

YSRCP won six out of 12 Assembly seats in the district. While TDP won five seats, the Chirala seat was won by former District Congress president Amanchi Krishna Mohan as an independent candidate who eventually joined the TDP.

Comment on this story