New Chief Justices appointed to five High Courts

Friday, September 16, 2016
New Delhi/Visakhapatnam

Five new judges have been appointed to Kerala, Calcutta, Sikkim, Tripura and Manipur High Court on Friday.

Justice Girish Chandra Gupta of the Calcutta High court will be its new Chief Justice. The post was kept vacant following Justice Manjula Chellur was transferred as Chief Justice of Bombay High Court recently.

Acting Chief Justice of Kerala High Court, Justice Shantinagoudar Mohan Mallikarjunagouda has been elevated as its new Chief Justice.

Acting Chief Justice of Sikkim High Court, Justice Satish Kumar Agnihotri has been confirmed as the High Court’s Chief Justice.

Justice Tilianthang Vaiphei and Rakesh Ranjan have been elevated as Chief Justices of Tripura and Manipur High Courts.

The appointments came at a time when 35 recommendations of the collegium on fresh judicial appointments and elevation of judges as High Court Chief Justices are awaiting clearance at the highest levels in the government.

Comment on this story