Nara Lokesh files papers for Council elections under MLAs’ quota

Monday, March 6, 2017

  • Election for the seven council seats scheduled on March 20
  • March 7 is the last date for filing of nominations.

Telugu Desam Party general secretary Nara Lokesh on Monday filed his nomination for the election to the Legislative Council under MLAs’ quota.

Before filing his papers, he performed a puja inside the Legislature Secretary in-charge and Returning Officer K.Satyanarayana Rao’s chamber and took the blessings of the priest.

Another four TDP leaders and two of the lone opposition YSRCP also filed their nominations before Satyanarayana for election to AP Legislative Council under MLAs’ quota at legislative building at Velagapudi.

YSRCP fielded Alla Srinivas alias Nani and Gangula Prabhakar Reddy. Prabhakar’s wife Indira Devi also submitted her papers. She is expected to withdraw her candidature before March 10 the last date for withdrawals.

Election for the seven council seats is slated for March 20 and March 7 is the last date for filing of nominations. The TDP has adequate numbers in the 176 member House including a nominated member to win five seats comfortably and the YSRCP two.

Scrutiny of nominations will be held on March 8. If only seven candidates remain in fray, they will be declared elected unopposed in the evening of March 10. Seven sitting members of the Council are due to retire on March 29 at the end of their six-year-term.

Comment on this story