Justice Dipak Misra takes oath as Chief Justice of India

Monday, August 28, 2017
New Delhi

Justice Dipak Misra today took oath of office as the 45th Chief Justice of India.

President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath to the Chief Justice Misra a brief ceremony held at the Darbar Hall of the Rashtrapati Bhavan. He has a tenure of just under 14 months i.e., till October 2, 2018.

Justice Misra was elevated to the Supreme Court on October 10, 2011. He enrolled himself as an advocate on February 14, 1977 and was appointed an Additional Judge of the Orissa High Court in 1996. He became a Permanent Judge in December 1997 before assuming charge as the Chief Justice of the Patna High Court in 2009. Later, he served as the Chief Justice of the Delhi High Court.

Comment on this story