Government to establish dance and music colleges in every district

Thursday, January 14, 2016

Andhra Pradesh State Government has decided to introduce music and Dance colleges in all the district across the State.

As on date, there are six music and dance colleges in Vijayawada, Rajahmundry, Nellore, Viziangaram Kurnool and Guntur. Students enrolled in these colleges pursue course such as four year certificate courses and two-year diploma courses in vocal, violin, veena, mrudangam, Hindustani vocal, Hindustani violin, sitar, Kuchipudi dance, Bharatanatyam, Kathak dance.

Director of Andhra Pradesh Department of Culture D.Vijay Bhaskar said that they plan to introduce visual arts, drama, painting and sculpting in curricula from next year.

Comment on this story