Four YSR Congress Party MLAs join Telugu Desam Party

Monday, February 22, 2016

In a major jolt to the opposition YSR Congress Party, four of its MLAs have joined the Telugu Desam Party today. YSRCP MLAs Bhuma Nagi Reddy, his daughter and MLA Bhuma Akhila Priya, Adi Narayana Reddy and Jalil Khan have officially joined the ruling party in the presence of TDP National President and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu. YSR Congress MLC Naryana Reddy also joined the TDP.

Earlier in the evening, Bhuma Nagi Reddy and his daughter Akhila Priya met with Chandrababu Naidu as the later's residence. Prior to that, Chandrababu Naidu met with TDP leaders from Jammulamadugu and Nandyal constituency and reportedly assured them that party will give importance to all the TDP workers and that they should welcome those who join the party. Kadapa and Kurnool in-charge ministers Ganta Srinivasa Rao, Atchen Naidu, Deputy Chief Minister KE Krishna Murthy and Minister Devineni Umamaheswara Rao were present at the meeting.

There have been reports in the past few days that few MLAs of the YSRCP are planning to join the TDP. In a bid to stop the shifting of loyalties, YSR Congress tried to play it down, saying that they were merely tactics of the Telugu Desam Party to attract YSRCP leaders. However, with today's development, the Telugu Desam Party has grown even stronger in the State.

The four MLAs Bhuma Nagi Reddy, his daughter Bhuma Akhila Priya, C.Adinarayana Reddy (Jammlamadugu) and Jaleel Khan (Vijayawada East) and MLC Narayana Reddy joined in the TDP in presence of the TDP national president Nara Chandrababu Naidu late in the evening in Vijayawada. It is interesting to note that all these MLAs and MLC shifted their loyalties to TDP at a time when YSRCP president Jagan Mohan Reddy was in New Delhi.

Sources said that there was strong opposition from a section of party leaders from Kurnool and Kadapa to the entry of Bhuma Nagi Reddy and Adinarayana Reddy respectively while Silpa Mohan Reddy and his brother Silpa Chakrapani Reddy reportedly opposed the entry of Bhuma Nagi Reddy as also former Minister P.Ramasubba Reddy was against the admission of Adinarayana Reddy into the party fold.

Chandrababu Naidu assured the two groups who opposed the admission saying that their interests will be safeguarded. Adinarayana Reddy said that though they oppose have to abide by the party leadership decision. Political sources said that two more MLAs from YSRCP one from Vizianagaram and another from Krishna district will likely to crossover.

See Also

Comment on this story