Dr.Sunkara Balaparameswara Rao gets Life Time achievement award

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

Dr. Sunakara Balaparameswara Rao has been selected for the prestigious Neurological Society of India’s life time achievement award. The award will be presented to him on December 17 at Neuro Surgeons Meet to be held at HICC. Dr. Parameswara Rao has so far got the award three times in the year 2005, 2006 and 2011. He worked at Andhra Medical College and Osmania Medical College as Neuro Surgery professor and dean. He was also a member of National Academy of Medical Sciences (New Delhi) from 1965 to 1975.

Dr. Sunkara Balaparameswara Rao was born on February 12, 1928 to Sunkara Kanakam and Smt. Sunkara Seshamma at Bhimavaram, West Godavari. He had his schooling at St.Thomas Convent, Mylapur, Madras and later at Bhimavaram and Machilipatnam. He studied MBBS at Andhra Medical College from 1945 to 1950. He was awarded Silver Jubilee award for the best outgoing student in 1950. He completed M.S. General Surgery in 1954 from AMC. In 1956, he started his career as a professor of Neurosurgery in AMC and KGH and was posted in Osmania Medical College in 1974. . He was concurrently Superintendent Nizam’s Orthopedic and Specialties Hospital in Additional Director’s Rank, from 1976 for seven years. He served as Dean, Faculty of Medicine, Osmania University and Principal, Osmania Medical College from 1980 for three years and retired in 1983. He published 81 scientific papers in various National and International journals. He presented more than 50 papers at various State, National and International conference and guided 19 scholars for Neurosurgery in PG. He has delivered 16 Orations at the State and National level.

Some of the awards and honors that he received in the past are as follows:

Awards and honors:

  • Tatachary Gold Medal in Pathology.
  • Dr. Ramamurthy Prize in Bacteriology.
  • The Andhra Medical College Silver Jubilee Prize for the best outgoing student.
  • Ebden Memorial Gold Medal for outstanding performance in M.S. (General Surgery).
  • Distinguished Scientist award from A.P. Academy of Sciences in 1999.
  • He received Dr. B.C.Roy National award in 1989 for organizing and developing Neurosurgery in Andhra Pradesh.
  • Life Time Achievement Award at Golden Jubilee Celebration of department of Neurosurgery of Andhra Medical College and King George Hospital at Visakhapatnam on 16.12.2005.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award at Regional Asian Stroke Congress and 1st National Conference of Indian Stroke Association at Chennai on 5.1.2006
  • Honorary Doctorate conferred by NTR University of Health Sciences on 18.2.09 at Vijayawada.

Comment on this story