Dr.Hariprasad Chaurasia, Hindol Sengupta and M.Narasimhappa bags Pinnamaneni awards

Sunday, December 13, 2015

Dr. Pinnamaneni and Smt.Seethadevi Foundation Managing Trust chairman Dr.Chadalavada Nageswara Rao announced the Pinnamaneni Awards to farmer from Anantapur Muttuluri Narasimhappa, Dr. Hariprasad Chaurasi and writer Hindol Sengupta. These awards will be given at a function to be held on December 16 and will be presided by Detroit based Nephrologist PRK Prasad.

Dr.Hariprasad Chaurasia
Dr. Hariprasad Chaurasia was born on 1st July 1938 at Allahabad, UP. He is a famous flutist, composer of Hindustani classical music. His father was a wrestler and his mother died when he was 6 year old. He began learning vocal music from his neighbours, Pundit Rajaram at the age of 15 and switched to playing the flute under the tutelage of Pandit Bholanath Prasanna of Varanasi for eight years. He joined AIR, Cuttack ,Odisha in 1957 and worked as a composer and performer. He serves as the artistic director of the World Music Department at the Rotterdam Music Conservatory in the Netherlands. He was also the founder of the Vrindavan Gurukul in Mumbai (opened 2006) and Vrindavan Gurukul in Bhubaneshwar (opened 2010). Both of these institutes are schools dedicated to training students in Hindustani Bansuri in the Guru-shishya tradition.

Hindol Sengupta
Sengupta was born on 1979 is a journalist, writer and entrepreneur. He lives in Delhi and is currently Editor-at-Large at Fortune India. In 2015 his seminal book on India's underbelly of entrepreneurship, Recasting India, was shortlisted for one of the world's most renowned prizes in economic writing, the Hayek Book Prize, given by the Manhattan Institute. He became the youngest writer ever, at 34, to be nominated for the Hayek Prize and the first ever from India.At 22, he was Features Editor running the global feature service of the IANS, serving news features and long form journalism from India across more than 30 countries. At 25, he worked with Pearson Plc to write the first book on India’s mushrooming fashion industry, Indian Fashion, which became an industry standard. His next, at the age of 28, was Ramp Up : The Business of Indian Fashion, was described as a Thomas Friedmanesque take on the industry and once again became a defining text.

Dr.Pinnamaneni Awards given so far

  • 2014- Dr. Atchyuta Samanta
  • 2013 - Justice P. Chandrasekhara Rao
  • 2012 - Dr. Y. V. Reddy
  • 2011 - Sri M. S. Swaminathan
  • 2010 - Ustad Zakir Hussain
  • 2009 - Dr. K. Srinath Reddy
  • 2007 - Dr. E. Sreedharan
  • 2006 - Dr. K. Anji Reddy
  • 2005 - Prof. C. N. R. Rao
  • 2004 - Dr. Jaya Prakash Narayan
  • 2003 - Smt. Sudha Murty
  • 2002 - Dr. Kiran Bedi
  • 2001 - SEWA-RURAL
  • 2000 - Sri K. J. Yesudas
  • 1999 - Dr. M. S. Valiathan
  • 1998 - Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam
  • 1997 - Sri Ramanand Sagar
  • 1995 - Sri R. K. Laxman & Dr H. Sudarshan
  • 1994 - Sri B. G. Verghese
  • 1993 - Lata Mangeshkarji & Sri S. P. Balasubrahmanyam
  • 1992 - Sri M. Narasimham & Dr. Bindeswar Pathak
  • 1991 - Dr. Verghese Kurien & Kalatapasvi L. V. Prasad
  • 1990 - Dr. Karan Singh & Mrs. Yasho Rajya Lakshmi Karan Singh
  • 1989 - Prof. V. Ramalingaswami & Shriman Sribhashyam Appalacharyulu

Comment on this story