Dasari Narayana Rao passed away

Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Legend actor, director and producer Dasari Narayana Rao (75) passed away today at around 7pm. while undergoing treatment at KIMS Hospital today.

Dasari Narayana Rao was born on May 4, 1942 in Palakollu. He was born to D.Sairaju and Srimathi Mahalakshmi. He married to Padma and is survived with one daughter and two sons.

Dasari Narayana Rao directed the first film ‘Tata Manavadu’ in 1972. He has directed about 151films, produced 53 films and worked in more than 250 films as a dialogue writer, and lyricist. Most of his films emphasise social injustice, corruption and gender discrimination. He has received two National Film Awards, nine state Nandi Awards, and four Filmfare Awards South. Besides graduating with a BA degree, he used to take part in scores of drama competitions. During his career he has also acted in Telugu, Tamil, and Kannada languages.

Dasari Narayana Rao worked as Rajya Sabha member and also Union Minister.


  • Dasari (left) with Trivikram Srinivas and chief minister Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy

National Film Awards

  • Special Jury Award / Special Mention (Feature Film) – Kante Kuthurne Kanu – 1998
  • National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Telugu – Meghasandesam – 1982

Filmfare Awards

  • Best Director – Gorintaku (1979)
  • Best Director – Premabhishekam (1981)
  • Best Film – Meghasandesam (1982)
  • Lifetime Achievement (2001)

Nandi Awards

  • NTR National Award Best Actor – Mestri (2009)
  • Best Actor – Mamagaru (1991)
  • Best Feature Film – Kante Kuthurne Kanu (1998)
  • Best Feature Film – Bangaru Kutumbam (1994)
  • Best Feature Film – Meghasandesam (1982)
  • Best Feature Film – Swargam Narakam (1975)
  • Best Feature Film – Samsaram Sagaram (1973)
  • Best Feature Film – Tata Manavadu (1972)
  • Special Jury – Premabhishekam (1981)

CineMAA Awards

  • Lifetime Contribution – 2003

Other honours

  • Vamsee Berkeley, Kalasagar, Siromani, Madras Film Fans Awards and Cine Herald Awards
  • Jyothi Chitra Super Director Award – six times
  • Ancient Andhra Patrika Best Director Award – six times
  • Sobhan Babu first memorial award in 2009
  • Bollimunta Sivaramakrishna Sahithi Kala Award-2016
  • Doctorate "Kalaprapoorna" from Andhra University for his contribution to Telugu Culture and Telugu Cinema in 1986

Comment on this story