Chandrababu announces withdrawal of two Union Ministers from Cabinet

{{Date | March 7, 2018| Amaravati}]

Chief Minister N.Chandrababu Naidu late today night announced that his two Cabinet Ministers P.Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Y.S.Chowdary will resign but clarified that they will not be severing ties with the BJP.

The decision of the Chief Minister is an expected one as he was left with no option to take it following the strong sentiment being developed amongst the people for SCS. The decision came after the announcement of the Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitely who ruled out of granting SCS to Andhra Pradesh during a press conference in New Delhi. He shifted the blame on the State government and the TDP. He, however said that the Centre is committed to implement all the assurances given in the AP State Reorganization Act and the commitment of financial assistance to the State.

Chandrababu Naidu had a teleconference with the TDP MPs and also with the MLAs in the State before the announcement. Majority of the MPs and MLAs opined of severing ties with the BJP. Chandrababu posted several tweets about the resignation from the Union Cabinet. He said ‘the Centre has been taking one sided decisions and our patience has run out now. When the purpose of joining the Union Cabinet hasn’t been fulfilled, it’s best to resign now’. In another tweet, he said I am not angry with any one. It is a crucial time. We have to stand, we have to fight, we have to get it done’.

Meanwhile, YSRCP Chief Whip in Parliament Y.V.Subba Reddy termed the decision as a ‘drama’ being staged because the elections are coming. He said that the TDP was only coming out of the Union Government and not from the NDA. He demanded that the BJP and TDP has to explain to the people of the State what they had done during the last four years. On the press conference of Arun Jaitley, he said that the Finance Minister said nothing new and only repeated what was said earlier.

In another move, the State BJP Ministers Kamineni Srinivasa Rao and P.Manikyala Rao prepared to tender their resignations to their ministerial posts said sources. BJP leaders have met in a private hotel and discussed the ongoing developments. Later, speaking to media, MLA Akula Satyanarayana, MLC PVN Madhav said that their both Ministers will submit resignations on Thursday. They said that they are only quitting from the government but will attend the Assembly as MLAs.

Here, it may be recalled that the YSRCP chief Jagan Reddy has been demanding the TDP to withdraw their Ministers from the Union Cabinet to mount pressure on the Centre for achieving the SCS. What he said a long back has now became a reality.

Comment on this story