Bharatiya Janata Party

The Bharatiya Janata Party is a prominent political party in India. It is a leading member of the Indian political party alliance National Democratic Alliance (NDA). Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad is its students wing.

With an outstanding victory in the 2014 elections, BJP has formed the Government in India along with its allies.

Prominent Leaders of BJP

The following is a partial list of prominent BJP leaders in the country.

Leader Position Notes
Amit Shah BJP President
Prime Minister Narendra Modi Leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Lok Sabha Prime Minister, India
Rajnath Singh Union Home Minister
Sushma Swaraj Union Minister for External Affairs Lok Sabha MP representing Vidisha constituency, Madhya Pradesh
Arun Jaitley Finance Minister
Gopinath Munde Deputy Leader of the BJP in the Lok Sabha Lok Sabha MP representing Beed, Maharashtra
Raman Singh Chhattisgarh Chief Minister
Nitin Gadkari Transport Minister Youngest ever President of BJP
Giriraj Singh
Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi Union Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs & Minority Affairs

BJP General Secretaries

  • Vijay Goel

Spokespersons of BJP



Reacting to the allegations of corruption made against Sonia Gandhi’s son-in-law Robert Vadra, BJP demanded a judicial inquiry into the issue. On 5 October 2012, BJP senior leader Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi said, “This loot has been allowed by Sonia Gandhi. There should be full inquiry into the allegations. After coalgate, this is loot of property… 10 Janpath has become a house for property dealings.”

The BJP demanded an inquiry into the allegations made by Indian Against Corruption against businessman and son-in-law of AICC president Sonia Gandhi Robert Vadra.

Despite leading the party to a hat-trick victory, Narendra Modi is still not the PM nominee of the Bharatiya Janata Party for the 2014 elections. On 20 December 2012, as BJP was re-elected to power in Gujarat for the third successive term, the party has parried questions on whether Modi is the party’s nominee for the Prime Minister in 2014 elections. BJP chief spokesperson Ravi Shankar Prasad that Narendra Modi has always been an important leader in the BJP, but the party’s nominee would be selected in a democratic fashion.


BJP questioned the quick rise of Robert Vadra and demanded AICC president Sonia Gandhi to explain how her son-in-law managed to amass Rs. 300 crore from an investment of just Rs. 1 lakh. The party has released a booklet and a short film alleging that Vadra made several land deals in collusion with Congress governments in Haryana and Rajasthan. It also criticized the “political dynasties” of DMK and Samajwadi Party. Apr 27, 2014


Kiran Bedi joined the Bharatiya Janata Party in 2015. She was made the chief ministerial candidate of the party on January 19, 2015 before the Delhi Assembly elections.

Bharatiya Janata Party State Units

Bharatiya Janata Party - Andhra Pradesh




BJP Maharashtra

Prominent Leaders

  • Nagpur city unit president - Krishna Khopde

Membership drive

Bharatiya Janata Party has claimed that the membership drive that was launched in September 2012 has evoke a great response. The party, on 13 October 2012, claimed that 3,07,524 new members have joined the party in Nagpur. The number is three times more than the previous such exercise in the city.

BJP Gujarat

In the 2012 Gujarat legislative assembly elections, Narendra Modi led BJP to victory for the third successive term. BJP won 115 of the 182 constituencies, while Congress managed to 61 and Others 6. Seven incumbent ministers lost their seats. Agriculture minister Dileep Sanghani, health minister Jay-narayan Vyas, social justice minister Fakirbhai Vaghela, Kiritsinh Rana and Kanubhai Bhalala all lost their seats in the 2012 elections.


BJP and the Babri Masjid demolition

In May 09, former UP Chief Minister Kalyan Singh blamed BJP for keeping him in dark about Babri Masjid demolition in 1992.

On CNN-IBN tapes

The Editors Guild of India has expressed shock at the pressure tactics being adopted by the Bharatiya Janata Party against CNN IBN Television channel.


2008 Civil Elections

BJP fared poorly in the 2008 civil elections in region of Kandhamal and Bhubaneswar in Orissa.

2009 Indian Parliamentary Elections

BJP is the first amongst the political parties to gear up for the 2009 Indian Parliamentary Elections. Lal Krishan Advani is announced as its Prime Ministerial candidate. In February 09, the BJP National Exective met in Nagpur to discuss general election strategy.

BJP registers its first confirmed win in Parliament elections

The party said projecting Narendra Modi as PM was an error. Says the party is divided about his PM candidature. BJP Parliamentary Board is likely to meet today to discuss about the outcome of Lok Sabha Elections.

Protests and Demands

2010 Commonwealth Games

On February 1, 2011, BJP demands immediate prosecution of the people guilty of corruption in the 2010 Games-related projects.

2G Spectrum Scam

On February 2, 2011 BJP criticizes Prime Minister Manmohan Singh for not acting fast enough against former telecom minister A Raja in the 2G Spectrum scam.

On February 22, 2011: BJP welcomes Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s announcement on agreeing for a JPC probe into the 2G Spectrum scam.

On February 8, 2011 BJP says the reply of the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) on the S-Band scam is unsatisfactory.

Protest against Petrol prices hike in 2012

Bharatiya Janata Party strongly condemned the hike in petrol prices in 2012. The NDA which was led by the BJP has called for a nation wide protest on May 31, 2012. BJP President Nitin Gadkari asked the UPA allies to join the protest.



BJP’s stand on foreign affaris

BJP and its stand on Pakistan

In May 09, an Indian delegation that met Pakistan High Commissioner Shahid Malik urged Pakistan to ensure safety of minorities in Taliban areas.

Related News

BJP asks Manmohan Singh to recall Karnataka Governor Bhardwaj
A delegation led by senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader LK Advani met Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh and asked him to recall Karnataka Governor HR Bhardwaj for failing to act impartially in the State political crisis. ANI

Rahul Gandhi questions Bihar CM’s secular credentials
Congress General Secretary Rahul Gandhi questioned the secular credentials of Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Thursday, asserting that he cannot claim the high ground after having partnerships with leaders and organisations following divisive ideology. ANI

Yeddyurappa wins second ‘Trust Vote’ in Karnataka Assembly
Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa won the second Trust Vote in the State Assembly on Thursday after 106 MLAs voted in favour of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led Government, but the fate of the Government would depend on the verdict of the Karnataka High Court in the case relating to disqualification of the MLAs. ANI

Comment on this story