Andhra badminton league from April 20 and will be conducted in five cities

Saturday, April 8, 2017

Rajya Sabha member T.G.Venkatesh’s son and industrialist T.G.Bharat said on Saturday that the first TGV Bharat Andhra Badminton League will be conducted from April 20 to 26 in five cities in the State.

Five teams would participate in the league to be inaugurated by the Chief Minister Nara Chandrababu Naidu’s birthday, selected 35 badminton players by bidding with a base price of Rs.10,000 in Mourya Inn hotel on Saturday. The prize money for the league is Rs.10 lakh and players were chosen on auction with a sum of Rs.10 lakh, he said.

Travel, accommodation, boarding, technical officers, venue arrangements and mementos would cost another Rs.30 lakh he told to media. The mathes would be held at the Kurnool Indoor Stadium on April 20, Visakhapatnam on April 22, Rajamahendravaram on April 23, Ongole on April 24 and Vijayawada on April 25 and 26, he said. 17 international players would take part besides 30 national players, he said.

T.G.Venkatesh, president of Andhra Pradesh Badminton Association will inaugurate the league in Kurnool on April 21, 2017 and Minister for Youth Affairs and Sports Kollu Ravindra and Minster for Water Resources Devineni Umamaheswara Rao would be the chief guests at the closing ceremony in Vijayawada, he said.

Comment on this story