AP BJP Ministers quit Assembly while TDP Ministers quit in Union Cabinet

Thursday, March 8, 2018

In the back drop of mounting pressure from the people of Andhra Pradesh seeking Special Category Status, the Chief Minister who has turned his tunes had prompted the BJP Ministers in the State Cabinet Kamineni Srinivasa Rao and P.Manikyala Rao placed their papers.

In the same spirit, the TDP Ministers in the Union Cabinet, P.Ashok Gajapathi Raju, Y.S.Chowdary too submitted their papers.

The Government of AP and Telangana ESL Narasimhan accepted their resignations within hours of the letters being forwarded by the office of the Chief Minister. The Ministers stayed away from the special Cabinet meeting. With this, the BJPT-TDP alliances ended on a bitter note as the efforts of the both the sides to bring the situation to normalcy failed following the ruling out of Special Category Status to the State.

In this hour of crisis, Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu made it clear to the Prime Minister Narendra Modi that there was no going back on the party’s decision to pull out of the two Ministers from the Union Cabinet in a telephonic conversation. In an emergency meeting with the available Ministers, he briefed them that he had politely told to Modi that he cannot go against the wishes of the people of the State. ‘If you want to do something good for the State, you have the opportunity to do so, I told him’, said Naidu.

Comment on this story