APSRTC union elections underway

Thursday, February 18, 2016

  • 8 unions are in the fray
  • 56,438 employees to exercise their franchise
  • Polling from 5am to 6pm
  • Results will be announced by 10pm

The polling for the APSRTC recognized union elections for recognized status are underway today. This is the first elections for the APSRTC after bifurcation of the State.

A total of 56,438 employees including 55,151 operational, 1,287 non-operational will exercise their franchise. In all the 13 districts, there are 152 polling stations were established. RTC Employees Union with Bus symbol, National Mazdoor Union (Kagada), YSR Congress Trade Union (Table Fan), Staff and Workers Federation (Star) Karmika Parishad (Tyre), RTC Bahujana Workers Union (peigon) United Workers Union (Steering) and Karmika Sangh (folded wrist) are in the fray.

The election campaign ended on Tuesday and the results will be announced at the depots where the polling is being held. Sources said that all the results in 13 districts would be announced by 10pm today. The Postal Ballot votes will be counted on February 23 and 24 in presence of Labour Commissioner and the results would be announced on March 4 officially.

Comment on this story