Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council
Andhra Pradesh ~ India ~ International ~ City ~ Entertainment ~ Business ~ Sports ~ Technology ~ Health ~ Features
Districts ~ State Politics ~ District Officials ~ Tollywood ~ Telangana News Online ~ Praja Rajyam Online
Home / Andhra Pradesh News / 2007 / February / February 18, 2007
Congress announces first list for AP Legislative Council Polls

Top News

Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council Elections - 2007

LACs of the Legislative Council elections
Congress bags 16 out of 23

Council Re-poll will be on April 25, 2007
Re-Poll to be held in 52 LAC constituencies

Mohan Reddy, Sudhakar Reddy and Chukka Ramaiah wins elections
UTF candidates emerges winners in many regions

Stage set for Council poll counting on Sunday
Elaborate arrangements made

Repoll ordered in 52 booths for Legislative Council Elections
Election Commission finds irregularities

Independents bag all MLC elections graduate seats
Counting process takes about 60 hours

More features on Council Elections 2007

Congress announces first list for AP Legislative Council Polls

Two seats of Karimnagar and Medak for TRS

Hyderabad, February 18, 2007

The Congress party on Sunday announced the first list of party candidates for the elections to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council from local bodies. The Congress president cleared the list of candidates in consultation with AICC General Secretary and in charge of party affairs in the State Digvijay Singh giving a free hand to the Chief Minister.

As per the agreement reached with the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), the Congress left two seats in Karimnagar and Medak. Making an exception to the guidelines, Congress High Command cleared the name of Rudra Raju, former chairman of the State Medical Infrastructure Corporation. Former DGP of Karnataka Srinivasulu was rewarded this time.

Of the 31 Council seats to be filled from Local Bodies, the Election Commission is not holding elections to three in Hyderabad and Rangareddy. Of the remaining 28, Congress has decided to contest 21 seats and has left two to the Telangana Rashtra Samiti.

Andhra Pradesh on February 18 , 2007

Stage set up for Three Civic Polls
GVMC, Rajahmundry and Hindupur to elect local bodies

Congress announces first list for AP Legislative Council Polls
Two seats of Karimnagar and Medak for TRS

No incentive to grow turmeric
Demand found to be on the rising side

Greater Visakhapatnam Municipal Corporation polls on Monday
Elaborate arrangements in place as GVMC goes for polls for the first time

Money, booze flow in city for GVMC elections
10,500 liquor bottles seized from godown

Caster shop inaugurated at VSP
First major civil engineering work as expansion project

February 18 in History

Events and happenings on 18 February in History

18 February 2001
Highlights: TDP meeting at NTR Trust Bhavan started today

18 February 2002
Highlights: Ramulu takes over as new DGP

18 February 2003
Highlights: CM turns down Opposition demand in regard to release of MLA Krisha Rao

18 February 2004

18 February 2005

18 February 2006
Highlights: Case booked against Asaduddin Owaisi

18 February 2007
Highlights: Stage set up for Three Civic Polls

18 February 2008
Highlights: Pharmacy student Ayesha murder case comes up for discussion in House

Suggested pages for your additional reading on Facebook

© 2000-2018 All Rights Reserved and are of their respective owners.
Disclaimer, Terms of Service & Privacy Policy | Contact Us