Home » State News » 2014 » May » May 13, 2014

YSR Congress gives tough fight to Telugu Desam in ZPTC and MPTC elections

May 13, 2014 - Hyderabad

The nearly four and half year old YSRCP has given a tough fight to the three decade old TDP in the ZPTC and MPTC elections results that were announced on Tuesday.

Elections were held in 653 ZPTC seats and 10,092 MPTC seats in all the 13 districts in Seemandhra. The TDP has won 362 ZPTC seats while YSRCP won 254. In MPTC elections, TDP won in 5017 while YSRCP was confined to only 3977 seats in Seemandhra.

YSRCP lagged behind to TDP to a two digit margin in nine districts. TDP gained upper hand in Uttarnadhra, East and West Godavari districts, Anantapur, Chittoor while YSR Congress has given a tough fight in Guntur, Krishna and Chittoor. YSRCP won in Kurnool, Nellore, Kadapa and Prakasam with good majority. In Prakasam, YSRCP bagged 32 out of 56 ZPTC. YSRCP witnessed good majority seats in Kadapa and won 46 seats in Nellore.

YSRCP express satisfaction

YSRCP party expressed satisfaction over the verdict given to the party for the first time it landed into political battle. Party sources said that it created a good base at the village front and increased the morale of the party. They said that a two digital difference with TDP is a good sign, said party leaders.

Party spokesperson Ambati Rambabu said that the party could get good command over rural areas and added that it is not the deciding factor to decide the Chief Minister. He said that the Assembly and Lok Sabha results due on May 16 will be favourable to the party.

Welcomes people verdict : Naidu

TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu said that the victory in ZPTC and MPTC in Seemandhra and Telangana is being dedicated to the people. He expressed gratitude to the people for the tremendous victory they have given to the party. He said that the verdict of the people is a historic one.

No account for Left parties in five districts

Communists could not influence in the elections and they could not open their accounts in five districts in Seemandhra. CPI contested in 248 MPTC and 29 ZPTC while CPM 558 MPTC and 92 ZPTC but both put together could win only 29 MPTC s at midnight results.

Impressive gains

MP Khambampati Ramamohana Rao said that 'there is no truth in the claims of YSRCP that the rural voters are not with the TDP. The results have reinforced our belief that people are with the TDP', he said. He said that the results have set the tone for the party's performance in the Assembly and Lok Sabha.

Andhra News

Comment on this story