Home » State News » 2014 » June » June 20, 2014

Dr Kodela Siva Prasada Rao elected as the first Speaker of Andhra Pradesh Assembly

June 20, 2014 - Hyderabad

Dr Kodela Siva Prasad Rao was elected unanimoulsy as the first Speaker of Andhra Pradesh Assemby.

After the Assembly resumed on the second day, the protem Speaker Pativada Narayana Swamy administered the oath to the newly elected MLAs. After the oath taking, the house is adjourned for ten minutes and after reassembly, the protem Speaker announced the unanimous election of Dr Kodela Siva Prasada Rao (TDP) as the Speaker of the Assembly.

Dr Siva Prasada Rao was taken to the seat by the Nara Chandrababu Naidu and the Oppositon party leader YS Jagan Mohan Reddy. The members have congrtulated him over his election.

Dr Siva Prasada Rao being a doctor in profession came to political field in 1983 and was elected for five times from Narasaraopet in 1983, 1985, 1989, 1994, and in 1999. He contested unsuccessfully in 2004 and 2009 and elected in 2014 on TDP.

Dr Kodela Siva Prasada Rao was born on May 2, 1947 at Kandlagunta village Nakarikallu mandal in Guntur district. his father Kodela Sanjeevaiah and mother Lakshminarsamma. His wife Sasikala and one son Dr Sivaramakrishna and daughter Dr.Vijaya Lakshmi.

He had his primary education at his native village Kandlagunta and school education at Municipal High School at Narasaraopet, PUC at Vijayawada Loyola College. He did his MBBS at Kurnool Medical College and MS at Benaras University.

Dr Sivaprasad worked at State Minister for 11 years and held Home, Irrigation, Panchayat Raj, Rural Development, Civil Supp-lies and Medical and Health.

Andhra News

Comment on this story