Home » State News » 2014 » May » May 12, 2014

Congress completely wiped out in Seemandhra in Municipal polls - TDP wins 62 while YSRCP bags 19

May 12, 2014 - Hyderabad

The results for municipal elections that were announced on Monday with the Congress registered dismal performance while YSRCP bagged 19 municipalities and the TDP with 62.

The electorate gave verdict to YSRCP with 19 municipalities, TDP in 62 municipalities while no pictures was given out in 11 municipalities while Congress was completely wiped out.

The voters in 92 municipalities and seven corporations defeated the official candidates of Congress while the TDP juggernaut was rolling in a majority of the municipalities with YSRCP gave a tough fight.

The total number of wards in the State 3970 while 2571 is in Seemandhra. YSRCP bagged 852 while TDP with 1446 and out of seven municipal corporations, TDP bagged 5 while YSRCP with 2.

Emphatic victory

TDP registered victory in Srikakulam, Viziangaram, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur and Prakasam by winning 42 out of 50 municipalities. It won Vijayawada, Eluru and Rajahmundry Corporation and for the first time VMC goes it way TDP's best performance is in East and West Godavari districts where it won nine out of 10 and eight out of nine municipalities.

YSRCP's highest tally is in Krishna district where it had to be content with three municipalities against five won by TDP. YSRCP's second best performance was in Srikakulam district where it won Amadalavalasa and Ichapuram municipalities.

Andhra News

Comment on this story