Home » State News » 2014 » February » February 19, 2014

Resignations rock Congress following passage of State Division Bill

February 19, 2014 - Hyderabad

Congress party expected that there may be some resignations following passage of Telangana Formation Bill in the Parliament but the party was shocked with the mounting resignations by its own State, Central and MLAs putting their papers.

As many as two Union Ministers, six State Cabinet Ministers and eight MLAs have tendered their resignations to their positions and to the party primary memberships and this has shocked the Congress party. Many more resignations are likely to follow on Wednesday with many of them plans to sail with the Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy who is likely to form a new political party. The Chief Minister is putting had put his papers on Wednesday morning to the Governor ESL Narasimhan following a press conference.

The Union Ministers who put up their papers immediately after the passage of Bill are MM Pallam Raju, Daggubati Purandeswari. The State Ministers - Ganta Srinivasa Rao, Erasu Pratap Reddy, TG Venkatesh, S Sailajanath, K Parthasarathy, Galla Aruna Kumari and Kasu Venkatakrishna Reddy have sent to the Governor. They were followed by nine MLAs who too quit the party and MLA posts.

Resignations will not serve any purpose:

APNGOS Association president P Ashok Babu said that the on-going resignation mela at this juncture will not serve any purpose. After concluding the two day long dharna at Ram Leila Maidan on Tuesday in Delhi, speaking to press said that they should have quit immediately after the announcement of Congress Working Committee's (CWC) announcement on June 30.

Andhra News

Comment on this story