Home » State News » 2014 » March » March 7, 2014

15 Congress MLAs plans to join YSRCP and TDP ahead of polls

March 7, 2014 - Hyderabad

As many as 15 MLAs belonging to Congress are prepared to shift loyalties either to YSR Congress or Telugu Desam ahead of elections.

Retirement announcements

In the back drop of the division of the State, former Minister and Congress MLA Daggubati Venkateswara Rao on Friday announced his retirement from politics. It may be recalled that former Minister Vatti Vasantha Kumar, former MPs Lagadapati Rajagopal and Vundavalli Arun Kumar too announced of the same, though they may shift to the party which will be launched by Kiran Kumar Reddy.

Those queuing up to join YSRCP are Seemandhra Congress MLAs Mr Kothapalli Subbarayudu from Narsapur in West Godavari district, Karumuru Nageswar Rao from Tanuku in West Godavari district and Suresh from Yerragondla Palem in Prakasam district.

Prospective change to the TDP are former Congress minister Galla Aruna Kumari and her son Galla Jayadev from Chittoor district, and Shilpa Mohan Reddy MLA from Nandyal in Kurnool district. Former ministers and senior Congress MLAs JC Diwakar Reddy, Gade Venkata Reddy and Rowthu Suryaprakash Rao, Rajahmundry City MLA are also likely to join the TDP.

G. Kutuhalamma MLA from Gangadhar Nellore in Chittoor district, Tota Trimurtulu MLA from Ramachandrapuram in East Godavari district, Avanthi Srinivasa Rao, MLA from Bhimili, Venkata Ramaiah, MLA from Gajuwaka, P. Ramesh Babu, MLA from Pendurthi and Ramana Murthy Raju, MLA from Yellamanchili plans to join TDP.

It may be recalled that the former Union Minister D Purandeswari on Friday join the BJP.

Andhra News

Comment on this story