Home » State News » 2014 » August » August 31, 2014

Noted Tollywood film director Bapu expired

August 31, 2014 - Hyderabad

Noted Tollywood Director Bapu died in Chennai today due to cardiac arrest.

The 80 year old Bapu has been conferred with five Nandi awards along with two national awards and directed 51 movies.

Born on December 15, 1933 at Narasapuram in West Godavari, the original name is Sattiraju Lakshminarayna.

He began his career as a cartoonist in Andhra Patrika has contributed his services as musician, artist, cartoonist and designer.

Bapu began his film career with his movie Sakshi has directed 51 movies and the last one is Sri Rama Rajyam. The movie directed by him Mutyalamuggu bagged national award he was conferred with Raghupati Venkaiah award in 1986.

Bapu was conferred with Padmasri Award in 2013.

The best among the movies he produced are Sakshi, Balaraju Katha, Mutyala Muggu, Bhakta Kannappa, Manavoori Pandavulu, Gorinta Deepam, Toorup Velle Railu, Vamsa Vruksham, Mister Pellam, Radha Gopalam, Sri Rama Rajyam in Telugu and Ham Panch, Seetha Swayamvar, Anokha Bhakt, Bhejuban, Vo Sath Din, Mohabbat, Mera Dharam, Prem Patrigna are some of many.

The movies Nandi Awarded was presented are Bala Raju Katha, Andhala Ramudu, Mutyalamuggu, Pelli Pustakam, Sri Rama Rajyam.

The movies that bagged Nandi award are Mutyala Muggu and Mister Pellam.

Bapu won two National Awards, Two Filmfare Best Director Awards for Seeta Kalyanama and Vamsa Vruksham and a Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award-South for the 2012 and five Andhra Pradesh State Nandi Awards.

He was conferred with Padma Shri by Government of India in 2013 and National honours are Life Time Achievement Award from Indian Institute of Cartoonists in 2001 and President of India Rashtrapati Award from the Academy of “Fine Arts, Tirupati.

National Film award for best film are Mutyala Muggu, Mister Pellam, Seeta Kalyanam (1976), Vamsa Vruksham (1980) and Filmfare Lifetime Acheivement Award-Sourth in 2012.

The Nandi awards for his films are Balaraju Katha (1971). Andala Ramudu (1973), Mutyala Muggu (1975), Pelli Pustakam (1993) and Sri Rama Rajyam (2011).

Raghupathi Venkaiah Award was awarded to him in 1986. The other awards are South Indian Film Directors’ Assocaiton Award for Best Direction – Sampoorna Ramayanam (1972), Visishta Puraskaramu from Potti Sriramulu Telugu University – 2002. Life Time Achievement Award from Telugu Association of North America, ‘Siromani’ award from American Telugu Association – 1992, Honorary Doctorate ‘Kala Prapoorna’ from Andhra University in 1991, Raja Lakshmi Award in 1982.

Andhra News

Comment on this story