Home » State News » 2014 » May » May 18, 2014

Andhra Pradesh Assembly to have TDP, BJP and YSRCP parties

May 18, 2014 - Hyderabad

The Andhra Pradesh State Assembly will feature MLAs from just three parties in the new Assembly post bifurcation. Candidates from Telugu Desam Party, YSR Congress Party, Bharatiya Janata Party and two Independent members won all the 175 Assembly constituencies. The Left parties - CPI and CPI(M), Jai Samaikyandhra Party, Aam Aadmi Party and Lok Satta Party failed to open their account.

In the just concluded elections to the Andhra Pradesh Assembly with 175 seats has thrown up an interesting combination. The elected House comprises representatives of just three major parties. The Assembly will have the members of Telugu Desam that is set to form the Government with its 102 member strength and its ally, the BJP has won four seats in the residuary Andhra Pradesh. Telugu Desam Party will form the first ever government of Andhra Pradesh post bifurcation.


The only Opposition party in the Assembly will be the YSR Congress Party with its 67 members. The remaining two seats are won by Independents – Amanchi Krishna Mohan from Chirala in Prakasam district and SVSN Varma from Pithapuram in East Godavari district.

No members from Congress

In the history of Andhra Pradesh elections, the incumbent Congress party did not have even win a single seat. The other major political parties including Lok Satta, Jai Samaikyandhra Party, the Communist Party of India and the Communist Party of India (Marxist) also drew flank in the Assembly elections.

Andhra News

Comment on this story