Home » State News » 2014 » February » February 11, 2014

AICC expels six Seemandhra MPs from party, creates political turmoil in the State

February 11, 2014 - Hyderabad

All India Congress Committee (AICC) on Tuesday expelled six Seemandhra MPs from the Party for moving no-confidence motion in Lok Sabha.

The suspended MPs are Vijayawada MP Lagadapati Rajagopal, Rajahmundry MP Vundavalli Arun Kumar, Anakapalli MP Sabbam Hari, Guntur MP Rayapati Sambasiva Rao, Rajampeta MP A Sai Pratap and Amalapuram MP GV Harsha Kumar.It may be recalled here that these MPs are striving themselves to keep the State united and earlier too they have given no-trust motion in the Parliament. The Congress led UPA government is going in a strategic way to get the AP State Reorganization Bill 2013 is passed in Lok Sabha.

Creates political turmoil

The suspension decision created a political unrest among the leaders in the State. Rajahmundry city MLA Rowthu Suryaprakash Rao immediately resigned in protest against the decision of suspending it's MP Vundavalli Arun Kumar and many more MLAs and Ministers to follow.

Chief Minister decides to resign

In the changed political situation, the Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy who had a meeting with some Ministers on Tuesday even decided to step down. Sources close to him said that he will be putting his papers on February 13. He reportedly said that it is not correct for him to continue even at this stage. Many MLAs and Minsters are prepared to quit from their posts and also to the Party.

Andhra News

Comment on this story