Home » State News » 2013 » December » December 9, 2013

Seemandhra TDP and ruling Congress MPs submits 'no-confidence' motion

December 9, 2013 - Hyderabad

In a fresh row over the ruling UPA government on Monday, four TDP MPs and six ruling Congress MPs have given notice of no-confidence motion to the Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar on Monday on the burning Telangana issue. From the TDP, KN Rao submitted the no-confidence motion supported by party MPs N Shiva Kumar, N Kristappa and M Venugopala Reddy. The six Congress MPs who submitted the notice include L Rajagopal, RS Rao, Arun Kumar, Sabbam Hari, Harsha Kumar and Sai Prathap.

It may be recalled here that the Union Cabinet has already approved the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and is to be sent to the AP Assembly for consideration by the President of India.

Sources said that as per house rules, a no-confidence motion has to be taken up for the first thing on Tuesday morning and the Speaker will seek the leave of the house to allow the motion to be taken up by the house that require the support of at least 50 MPs. It may be the firt time in the history that the ruling party MPs tables no confidence motion on its own government.

Andhra News

Comment on this story