Home » State News » 2013 » December » December 10, 2013

Six Congress rebel MLAs finds no support for no-confidence motion

December 10, 2013 - Hyderabad

The six Congress MPs who places threat on the UPA-II government to table a no-confidence motion appears to have failed to get the requisite support to carry out their threat.

It may be recalled here that six Congress MPs, three YSRCP MPs and four TDP MPs have written separately to the Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar seeking her permission to go ahead with no-trust motion. To get eligible for discussion, it needs to be backed up by at least one-tenth of the member of the House.

Lagadapati express confidence

In the back drop of this, the Vijayawada MP Lagadapati Rajagopal said that they got some MPs supporting them both from the State and other States. However, he said that they are working on numbers.

'Action would be taken', says Shinde

The Union Minister for Home Sushilkumar Shinde said on Tuesday that action would be taken against these six MPs Lagadapati Rajagopal, Vundavalli Arun Kumar, A Saipratap, Rayapati Sambasiva Rao, GV Harsha Kumar and Sabbam Hari for giving the no-trust notice and added that the Congress high command is expected to tread cautiously on the issue.

'It is not acceptable and unfortunate', says Digvijay Singh

AICC general secretary and in charge of AP affairs Digvijay Singh said that the action of these MPs is not acceptable and unfortunate. He said that he had spoken to some of them and requited them to withdraw the notice. He expressed that they would take him into confidence.

Biju Janata Dal announces support

Trinamool Congress leader Mamata Banerjee out supporting the no-confidence move, Biju Janata Dal's 14 MPs will support the motion when the admission of the motion is considered. Shiv Sena, Akalidhal and Forward Bloc too extend support to the no-confidence motion.

Andhra News

Comment on this story