Home » State News » 2012 » March » March 18, 2012

Congress finalises nominations for Rajya Sabha

March 18, 2012 - Hyderabad

The Congress high command has nominated K Chiranjeevi, Renuka Choudhury, Palvai Goverdhan Reddy and Rapolu Anand Bhaskar as the party candidates for the Rajya Sabha. The announcement came as a surprise as the names of Palvai and Anand Bhaskar were not prominently heard to be in contention.

As part of the agreement, founder of the erstwhile Praja Rajyam Party, Chiranjeevi was nominated by the party. Loyalty to the AICC president Sonia Gandhi appeared to have played a key role in the nominations, as former Union Minister Renuka Chowdary was nominated. The surprise came in the nominations of senior Telangana leader Palvai Goverdhan Reddy and APCC general secretary Rapolu Anand Bhaskar.

The four sitting members of the state - K Keshava Rao, Dasari Narayana Rao, Rashid Alvi and G Sanjeeva Reddy failed to get a re-nomination.

Andhra News

Comment on this story