TDP MLAs strike
Andhra Pradesh ~ India ~ International ~ City ~ Entertainment ~ Business ~ Sports ~ Technology ~ Health ~ Features
Districts ~ State Politics ~ District Officials ~ Tollywood ~ Telangana News Online ~ Praja Rajyam Online
Home / State News / 2009 / December 2009 / December 13, 2009
Four TDP MLAs begin indefinite strike
RSS / Print / Comments

Palaniappan Chidambaram

PDP has reservations on Kashmir interlocutor nominations

Centre finalises interlocutors for J-K dialogue process

Centre finalises interlocutors for J-K dialogue process

More on Palaniappan Chidambaram

Pranab Mukherjee

Congress decides to avoid hasty decision on the fate of Karanataka Govt.

Pranab Mukherjee seeks more financial sector reforms

Pranab cautions the world on 'fragile' global economic recovery

More on Pranab Mukherjee

Top News

144 Section in Hyderabad ahead of Ayodhya verdict

Trinamool accuses CPI (M), police of harassing and arresting party workers

Airline captain dies while flying plane from Philippines to Qatar

Russell Brand and Katy Perry want their wedding to be 'normal'

Foreign investors eyeing India to avoid West's economic doldrums

Anjali Tendulkar expresses happiness over Sachin's double century against Australia

Yoga may have the power to fight fibromyalgia

Watermelon effectively lowers BP

Four TDP MLAs begin indefinite strike

APCC Chief says no minister will step down

The political crisis in Andhra deepened further as four MLAs from Telugu Desam Party launched a indefinite hunger strike opposing division of Andhra Pradesh. MLAs Devineni Umamaheswara Rao from Mylavaram, Chinnam Ramakotaiah from Nuzividu, former Mayor of Vijayawada city Panchumarthi Anuradha, B Umamaheswara Rao launched the hunger strike. PRP leaders Y Srinivas and Y Ravi met the leaders on fast and extended their support. In a protest to the "doublespeak" of the Telugu Desam Party, TDP MLA from Karimnagar Ch Ramesh submitted his resignation both his assembly membership as well as to his party membership.

Meanwhile, Chief of Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee, D Srinivas however said that no minister will step down. He appealed to the protesting ministers to withdraw their resignations. "Whatever their (MLAs) grievances are... it has already come to the notice of the High Command. They will take a decision on this. So I appeal them to withdraw their resignation," he said. When asked if there will be a constitutional crisis in the state, he said "I have made an appeal. I am confident that they will withdraw their resignations. There shall not be any constitutional crisis. This is my confidence". Congress MP from Vijayawada, Lagadapati Rajagopal threatened that he will go on hunger strike if a resolution on a separate Telangana state is introduced in the assembly.

Senior Congress MLA, J C Diwakar Reddy felt that there is some confusion in the statement of the Central Government regarding the formation of a separate Telangana state. Speaking to the reporters, he said, "Home Minister P Chidambaram, Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee and the Union Home Secretary have spoken on the issue. There is some confusion. We request the Centre to send a representative to clarify the doubts. It will help restore normalcy in the state".

Andhra News

Link to this page

Suggested pages for your additional reading on Facebook

© 2000-2017 All Rights Reserved and are of their respective owners.
Disclaimer, Terms of Service & Privacy Policy | Contact Us