AP Phase 2 elections
Andhra Pradesh ~ India ~ International ~ City ~ Entertainment ~ Business ~ Sports ~ Technology ~ Health ~ Features
Districts ~ State Politics ~ District Officials ~ Tollywood ~ Telangana News Online ~ Praja Rajyam Online
Home / State News / 2009 / April 2009 / April 20, 2009
EC to deploy tough police officers in hypersensitive areas
RSS / Print / Comments

Major Political Parties in Andhra Pradesh

Congress Party

Telugu Desam Party

Praja Rajyam

Bharateeya Janatha Party

Lok Satta

Communist Party of India

Communist Party (M)

Telanga Rastra Samithi

Elections & Political Parties News

High drama at MP Vijayashanti house
Police makes bid to arrest her but she was not found

EC to take action against MP Vijaya Shanti for her provocative remarks
Chief Electoral Officer IV Subba Rao says suo motu action will be taken against her

By elections for two ZPTC and one MPTC on September 8
Election results to be declared on September 11

Andhra Pradesh reports incident free re-polling
Estimated turnout at 80 percent

EC to deploy tough police officers in hypersensitive areas
Second phase polling date nears

First phase elections in the state ends peacefully
Andhra Pradesh reports 60% polling during the phase

First phase voting begins in Andhra Pradesh
Improved turnout viewed as people form queues right from the morning

Election Commission concedes Government request on electoral rolls revision
Deadline extended

Election Commission rejects TDP nominee nomination papers
Mallu Ravi nomination papers cleared

Election Commission issues notice to Raghuveera Reddy
Another notice issued to State Government for violation of poll code

140 candidates barred from contesting civic polls
State Election Commission took the decision

More features on Political Parties

Top News

144 Section in Hyderabad ahead of Ayodhya verdict

18 killed, several injured as bus falls into river in Bulandshahr

Pak's flawed Afghan policy of support to terror groups will bite back hard: Editorial

Ajay Devgan prays for success of his film in Ajmer

Pranab Mukherjee seeks more financial sector reforms

Australia asks CWG organizers for better treatment at closing ceremony

Study to find whether leptin helps type 1 diabetic patients

New study confirms smoking, cancer link (reissue)

EC to deploy tough police officers in hypersensitive areas

Second phase polling date nears

As a part of the action plan to tackle the situation during the second phase of polling, 14 sincere and tough police officers are to be deployed by the Election Commission in hypersensitive and volatile areas which have track record of poll violence. The names of the police officers are kept in secret with a view to pre-emptying the rowdy elements form preparing counter strategies.

The ares identified include Narasaropet, Marakapur, Addnaki, Kakinada, Kuppam, Tirupati, Pulivendula, Vijayawada and Nellore. After interacting on Monday with the District Collectors and the Superintendent of Polices of the ten districts involved in the second phase of polling, the Chief Electoral Officer, IV Subba Rao speaking to media persons said that 6,943 of the 30,446 polling stations had been sensitive and hypersensitive or prone to extremist violence.

Another 38 polling stations are listed as being located in inaccessible villages. Fourteen of them are in Krishna district, eight in Kadapa district, seven in East Godavari district and six in West Godavari district and three in Nellore district.

Andhra News

Link to this page

Suggested pages for your additional reading
AndhraNews.net on Facebook

© 2000-2017 AndhraNews.net. All Rights Reserved and are of their respective owners.
Disclaimer, Terms of Service & Privacy Policy | Contact Us