Home » Sports News » 2012 » July » July 8, 2012

US Mens Basketball team for 2012 London Olympics finalized

July 8, 2012 - Washington

USA Basketball chairman Jerry Colangelo announced the USA official basketball squad that will be taking part in the 2012 Olympic Games. Injured players made the selection process difficult but with the availability of a good talent pool, the 12 member team was finalized.

The latest basketball squad included five players, LeBron James, Kobe Bryant, Carmelo Anthony, Chris Paul and Deron Williams, who brought gold medal by winning at the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

The finalized US Basketball team included: Carmelo Anthony (New York Knicks), Kobe Bryant (Los Angeles Lakers), Tyson Chandler (New York Knicks), Kevin Durant (Oklahoma City Thunder), Blake Griffin (Los Angeles Clippers), James Harden (Oklahoma City Thunder), Andre Iguodala (Philadelphia 76ers), LeBron James (Miami Heat), Kevin Love (Minnesota Timberwolves), Chris Paul (Los Angeles Clippers), Russell Westbrook (Oklahoma City Thunder), and Deron Williams (Brooklyn Nets)

Basketball at the 2008 Summer Olympics

The USA team won the Gold medal both in mens and womens category at the Beijing 2008 Summer Olympics. The Spanish and the Argentine mens teams won the Silver and Bronze medals while the Australian and Russian teams won the women Silver and Brozne medals.

Andhra News

Comment on this story