Home » Sports News » 2012 » March » March 3, 2012

Misbah to lead Pakistan in Asia Cup

March 3, 2012 - Islamabad

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the squad for the Asia Cup, which would be led by captain Misbahul Haq.

The Nation quoted a PCB notification, as saying that the 15 member squad will include Younis Khan, Muhammed Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Shahid Afridi, Umar Akmal, Hammad Azam, Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman, Umar Gul, Aizaz Cheema and Wahab Riaz.

It was reported last month that the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had no plans to strip Misbah of the captaincy in any format of the sport in the near future, in the wake of the ODI series whitewash against England.

"Misbah is going to be retained as captain for the Asia Cup and there are no immediate plans to sack him as captain of the one-day or T20 squads," a senior PCB official said.

He also ruled out any major overhaul in the national selection committee before the Asia Cup.

"All this talk about Misbah being replaced as captain for limited overs cricket is not correct. So far he is captain for all three formats and this issue is not even on the agenda of the governing board meeting that is due to be held on March 1," the official added.


Comment on this story