Home » Sports News » 2012 » May » May 29, 2012

Mandeep Singh Wins the Citibank Rising Star Award 2012

May 29, 2012 - Mumbai

Mumbai, May 29 (ANI-Business Wire India): Kings XI Punjab batsman Mandeep Singh has been named the winner of the 2012 Citibank Rising Star Award. The Citibank Rising Star Award recognizes the best under-23 player of the DLF IPL season.

The trophy was adjudicated by an eminent jury including former Indian cricketers Ravi Shastri and Sunil Gavaskar.

The 20 year old Mandeep Singh, right-hander impressed both fans and critics with his masterful batting displays. With 432 runs this season, he was the highest run-getter for KXIP.

Sanjeev Kapur, Chief Marketing Officer, Citi India presented Mandeep Singh the trophy and a cheque of Rs 10 lakhs at the finals yesterday.

"The Citibank Rising Star award is an endeavor to encourage young cricketing talent for their outstanding contribution in the Indian Premier League. We are delighted to recognize Mandeep Singh as the Citibank Rising Star this season. He has performed exceptionally well and has the spark to make a promising cricketing career in the years ahead," said Sanjeev Kapur.

Commenting on the occasion, Col. Arvinder Singh, COO, Kings XI Punjab, said, "It's a matter of pride for us that Mandeep has been adjudged the Citibank Rising Star. We always had full faith in his capabilities and it is heartening to see him mature and take on added responsibility in the team. We wish him the very best in his cricketing future. In Kings XI Punjab it has been our endeavor to provide opportunity to young talented cricketers to showcase their skills and it is satisfying to see our efforts come to fruition."

Receiving the award, Mandeep Singh said, "As a young player at IPL, you wish to win the Citibank Rising Star Award. I worked hard for it and it's an honor to have received this recognition. I would like to thank Citibank and the jury members for considering me worthy of this award."

Previous winners of the Citibank Rising Star Award have been Shreevats Goswami (2008), Rohit Sharma (2009) and Saurabh Tiwary (2010) and Sayyed Iqbal Abdulla (2011).


Comment on this story