Home » Sports News » 2012 » February » February 1, 2012

India loses first of two Twenty20 internationals to Australia

February 1, 2012 - Sydney

India on Wednesday lost the first of two Twenty20 internationals to Australia by 31 runs.

Chasing Australia's total of 171 for the loss of four wickets, India managed to score 140 for the loss of six wickets.

Earlier, India won the toss and put Australia into bat at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

Australia scored their 171 runs at a run rate of 8.55 runs per over. Wicketkeeper batsman Mathew Wade top scored with 72 of 43 deliveries. He hit five boundaries and three sixes in his knock.

The second highest score was that D J Hussey. He scored 42 of 30 deliveries with one boundary and three sixes.

For India, spinners R.Ashwin, Suresh Raina and Rohit Sharma claimed a wicket each. All Indian bowlers were milked for six and above runs per over.

When India came in to bat, Sehwag promised much with a boundary, but failed to deliver again, scoring six runs.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni top scored with an unbeaten 48 that contained one boundary and three sixes.

The others to put up a somewhat decent score were opener Gautam Gambhir (20) and middle order batsman Virat Kohli (22). India made its runs at seven runs per over.

For Australia, Dan Christian claimed two wickets for 35, while Hussey took two wickets for four runs. Spinners Xavier Doherty and Brad Hogg helped them by bowling tight lines.

From Australia, George Bailey, Xavier Doherty and J P Faulkner made their Twenty20 debuts, while Rohit Sharma made his debut for India.

Matt Wade was declared the player of the match.


Comment on this story