Home » Sports News » 2012 » August » August 19, 2012

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards for 2012 announced

August 19, 2012 - New Delhi

The Government has announced the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards for the year 2012, here today.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by Selection Committee consisting of eminent sportspersons and sports administrators; headed by Col Rajya Vardhan Singh Rathore. Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has approved to confer awards upon the following sportspersons.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award - 2012

1Shri Vijay KumarShooting
2Shri Yogeshwar DuttWrestling

Arjuna Awards 2012

1Ms. Deepika KumariArchery
2Ms. Laishram Bombayla DeviArchery
3.Ms. Sudha SinghAthletics
4Ms. Kavita Ramdas RautAthletics
5Ms. Ashwani PonnappaBadminton
6Mr. Parupalli KashyapBadminton
7Mr. Aditya S. MehtaBilliards & Snooker
8Mr. Vikas KrishanBoxing
9Mr. Yuvraj SinghCricket
10Mr. Sardar SinghHockey
11Mr. Yashpal SolankiJudo
12Mr. Anup KumarKabaddi
13Mr. Samir SuhagPolo
14Ms. Annu Raj SinghShooting
15Mr. Omkar SinghShooting
16Mr. Joydeep KarmakarShooting
17Ms. Deepika PallikalSquash
18Mr. Sandeep SejwalSwimming
19Ms. Ng. Sonia ChanuWeightlifting
20Mr. Narsingh YadavWrestling
21Mr. Rajinder KumarWrestling
22Ms. Geeta PhogatWrestling
23Mr. M. Bimoljit SinghWushu
24Mrs. Deepa MallickAthletics – Paralympics
25Mr. Ramkaran SinghAthletics – Paralympics

Normally only one award of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is given every year to an individual sportsperson. However, the Scheme provides that this condition can be relaxed in exceptional circumstances viz., winning of an Olympic medal. Like wise for the Arjuna Awards, normally not more than 15 awards are to be given in any calendar year. However, the Scheme of Arjuna Awards also provides that keeping in view the performance of Indian sportspersons in the Commonwealth, Asian Games and Olympic Games during a particular year, Arjuna Awards exceeding 15 in number may be allowed with proper justification and approval of the Minister for Youth Affairs & Sports. The Selection Committee noted that 2012 is the Olympic year and India has won 6 medals in the London Olympics, which is country’s best performance in Olympic Games, and recommended that the condition of one award in case of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and 15 awards in case of Arjuna Awards may be relaxed and the number of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award may be increased from 1 (one) to 2 (two) and Arjun Awards may be increased from 15 (fifteen) to 25 (twenty five).

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for spectacular performance in the year under consideration; Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for three consecutive years preceding the year of award.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardees will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh each and Arjuna Awardees will receive statuettes, citations and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each.

The awardees will receive their awards from His Excellency the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29, 2012.

Andhra News

Comment on this story