Home » Sports News » 2011 » June » June 7, 2011

Simon Katich dropped from Cricket Australia's latest contracts list

June 7, 2011 - Melbourne

Cricket Australia (CA) has announced its latest list of 25 contracted players.

The list includes Xavier Doherty, John Hastings, David Hussey, Usman Khawaja, and Jason Krejza, but Simon Katich has been dumped.

Along with Katich, the National Selection Panel (NSP) also passed over James Hopes, Andrew McDonald, Clint McKay, Marcus North, Shaun Tait, Michael Beer and Adam Voges.

Patrick Cummins and James Pattison have earned contracts for the first time.

Chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch said that Katich had been a fantastic player for Australia and a key and successful member of the Test team in recent years.

"However, amongst other matters, the panel felt it was the right time now to start blooding our next opening partnership in preparation for the Ashes two years from now," The Herald Sun quoted Hilditch, as saying.

"The opening partnership is critical to the success of any team and takes time to develop the necessary experience at international level. We feel it is important this change is made now as we prepare for the challenges ahead," he added.

Hilditch also reckons that the next 12 months will be a very important period in Australian cricket.

"It will undoubtedly be a tough and demanding period as we play three of the world's top four Test nations during away series against Sri Lanka and South Africa and home series against New Zealand and India," the Chairman of selectors said.

"However we see it as a very exciting opportunity to commence regaining Australia's leading position in world cricket," he added.

ist of Cricket Australia contracted players: Doug Bollinger, Michael Clarke, Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Callum Ferguson, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, John Hastings, Nathan Hauritz, Ben Hilfenhaus, Phillip Hughes, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Jason Krejza, Brett Lee, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, James Pattinson, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Shane Watson and Cameron White.


Comment on this story