Home » Sports News » 2011 » September » September 13, 2011

Players, administrators throng ICC cricket awards function in London

September 13, 2011 - London

Cricketers and administrators from countries affiliated to the International Cricket Council (ICC) thronged to Grosvenor House in London, for the ICC's annual awards ceremony, on Monday.

Former India captain Sunil Gavaskar said that award ceremonies are a good means of providing memorable symbols to players at the high point in their careers.

"I think it's fantastic to have something like that, because, you know, you work hard, and you get your rewards, you know, as far as public affection is concerned. But actually to have something to put on your mantelpiece is always nice," he said.

The Indian team was conspicuous by its absence.

"I believe (that) those who will be awarded, they will be coming. It has been left to the players," said Shukla, who is also the vice-president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

The eighth annual ICC awards saw English batsman Jonathan Trott receives the Cricketer of the Year award.

Alastair Cook, England's One-Day International (ODI) captain, received the Test player of the year award.

Sri Lanka's Kumara Sangakkara won the ODI cricketer and the People's Choice Award, and was the only player who bagged two awards at the event.

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was conferred the Spirit of Cricket Award. By Praful Kumar Singh


Comment on this story