Home » Sports News » 2011 » October » October 18, 2011

Pakistan elect to field in opening Test against Sri Lanka in UAE

October 18, 2011 - Abu Dhabi

Pakistan have won the toss and put Sri Lanka into bat in the first Test at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Pakistan entered the Test with three pace bowlers to take advantage of some grass on the pitch, playing Saeed Ajmal as the only spinner, Emirates 24/7 reports.

Left-arm paceman Junaid Khan, who made his debut against Zimbabwe last month, was preferred over the much-experienced Wahab Riaz.

Sri Lanka also followed a similar pattern, giving paceman Nuwan Pradeep his Test debut, and including Rangana Herath as the only specialist spin bowler in the team.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez, Taufiq Umar, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Adnan Akmal, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Gul, Aizaz Cheema, Junaid Khan.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan (captain), Angelo Mathews, Tharanga Paranavitana, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Prasanna Jayawardene, Rangana Herath, Chanaka Welegedara, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep.


Comment on this story