Home » Sports News » 2011 » June » June 16, 2011

Kiwi pacers get go ahead for Emerging Players tourney

June 16, 2011 - Wellington

New Zealand fast bowlers Ben Wheeler, Doug Bracewell and Trent Boult have been picked for the A squad that will contest the upcoming Emerging Players tournament.

The selection is backed by national team coach John Wright and selector Mark Greatbatch.

The selectors have also told off spinner Jeetan Patel and batsman Peter Ingram that they need to come good to hold on to their spots in the side.

World Cup players Andy McKay and Luke Woodcock, spinner Bruce Martin and paceman Graeme Aldridge have also found a place in the 15-member squad.

"We're looking to give another group of quick bowlers an opportunity to try and create depth in that area," Greatbatch was quoted as saying by

New Zealand A: Graeme Aldridge (Northern Districts), Todd Astle (Canterbury), Trent Boult (ND), Doug Bracewell (Central Districts), Neil Broom (Otago), Dean Brownlie (Canterbury), Derek de Boorder (Otago), Daniel Flynn (ND), Anaru Kitchen (Auckland), Bruce Martin (Auckland), Andy McKay (Wellington), BJ Watling (ND), Ben Wheeler (CD), Brad Wilson (ND), Luke Woodcock (Wellington).


Comment on this story