Home » Sports News » 2011 » August » August 10, 2011

India struggling in Edgbaston Test

August 10, 2011 - Birmingham

India were reduced to 75 for the loss of four wickets at lunch on the first day of the third Test against England at the Edgbaston cricket ground here on Wednesday, thanks to some incisive and penetrative bowling by the England pacers.

India have lost the wickets of Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid.

Sehwag was the first to go for a duck, caught behind of the bowling of Stuart Broad. The next to go was Gautam Gambhir, who was bowled for 38 (seven fours) by Tim Bresnan.

Tendulkar did not stay long at the crease, scoring one before Anderson caught him in the slip cordon off the bowling of Broad.

Dravid was the last Indian batsman to get out for 22 (three fours) before the lunch break, bowled by beauty of a delivery from Bresnan.

India's Very Very Special VVS Laxman was at the crease with 13 (two fours). Suresh Raina will join him after lunch.

Broad and Bresnan took two wickets each for 32 and 13 runs respectively.

Earlier, England captain Andrew Strauss won the toss and put India into bat. Strauss called tails, while Indian skipper called heads at the toss in the presence of former England captain Michael Atherton and match referee Ranjan Madugalle.

England predictably have included Essex middle-order batsman Ravi Bopara in the squad for the match in place of injured Jonathan Trott. He will bat at number six, while Ian Bell goes up the order to No.3.

India have included leg spinner Amit Mishra in the squad in place of off-spinner Harbhajan Singh. Opener Virender Sehwag has come in for Tamil Nadu and South Zone opener Abhinav Mukund.

It's an overcast morning and the match is being played on a greenish track.

It is expected that Strauss and the rest of the England squad would go for the kill, as they are already two-nil up in the series.

India has been left demoralised after Trent Bridge, where they were in potentially match-winning situations on two occasions.

The teams for the Test are as follows:

England: A N Cook, A J Strauss (captain), I R Bell, K P Pietersen, E J G Morgan, R S Bopara, M J Prior (wicketkeeper), T T Bresnan, S C J Broad, G P Swann and J M Anderson

India: V Sehwag, G Gambhir, R Dravid, S R Tendulkar, V V S Laxman, S K Raina, M S Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), A Mishra, P Kumar, I Sharma and S Sreesanth.


Comment on this story