Home » Sports News » 2011 » November » November 26, 2011

Harbhajan left out of 17-man squad for Australia Test series, Zaheer makes comeback

November 26, 2011 - Mumbai

Out of form off-spinner Harbhajan Singh has been left out of the 17-man Indian squad for the upcoming four-Test series in Australia.

On the other hand, fast bowler Zaheer Khan, who is recovering from hamstring and ankle injuries, will make a comeback subject to match fitness.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selection committee, led by K. Srikkanth, has also retained 13 players from the team announced for the ongoing Mumbai Test against the West Indies.

The only additions, apart from Zaheer, are wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha and fast bowler Praveen Kumar.

Yuvraj Singh, who had declared himself unfit for the ODI series against the West Indies, will also miss the tour.

The first Test will begin in Melbourne on December 26, and will be followed by matches in Sydney (January 3-7), Perth (January 13-17) and Adelaide (January 24-28).

India's 17-man squad: M.S. Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, V.V.S. Laxman, Virat Kohli, R. Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Rohit Sharma, Pragyan Ojha, Praveen Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha and Zaheer Khan.


Comment on this story