Home » Sports News » 2011 » September » September 12, 2011

Dhoni, Yuvraj, Sehwag and Zaheer named in ICC ODI Team of the Year

September 12, 2011 - London

Indian cricketers M.S. Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan were today named in the International Cricket Council (ICC) ODI Team of the Year.

The team, which was chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indian legend Clive Lloyd, was announced at a special function ahead of today's ICC Awards ceremony at London's Grosvenor House Hotel.

Six countries are represented in the 12-man line-up and just one player - Dhoni - four years in a row.

The World Cup winning captain keeps wicket and leads the side.

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order): Tillakaratne Dilshan, Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, Ab de Villiers, Shane Watson, Yuvraj Singh, M.S. Dhoni (wicketkeeper/captain), Graeme Swann, Umar Gul, Dale Steyn, Zaheer Khan and 12th man - Lasith Malinga.

Chairman of the ICC Awards selection panel, Lloyd said: "The ODI team of the year reflects the success of India with four players selected - Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, M.S. Dhoni and Zaheer Khan. Yuvraj was, of course, the player of the tournament and MS Dhoni, the man of the match in the final, whilst fellow finalists Sri Lanka has three players in the side."

Lloyd was joined on the panel by former Pakistan captain Zaheer Abbas, former England captain Mike Gatting, former New Zealand bowler Danny Morrison and former South African bowler Paul Adams.

The ICC ODI Team of the Year was one of two teams selected by the ICC selection panel along with the Test line-up which was announced last month.


Comment on this story