Home » Sports News » 2011 » October » October 29, 2011

BCCI announces 2011-12 contracted players list

October 29, 2011 - Kolkata

Player gradations for 2011-12 were approved by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)'s Working Committee after a meeting in Kolkata today.

The 'A Grade' (one crore rupees) consists of Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, M.S. Dhoni, V.V.S. Laxman, Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Yuvraj Singh, Ishant Sharma and Virat Kohli.

The 'B Grade' (50 lakh rupees) consists of Praveen Kumar, Pragyan Ojha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja.

The 'C Grade' (25 lakh rupees) consists of S. Sreesanth, Amit Mishra, Cheteshwar Pujara, Abhimanyu Mithun, Vinay Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Munaf Patel, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Wriddhiman Saha, Parthiv Patel, S. Badrinath, Manoj Tiwary, Piyush Chawla, Dinesh Karthik, Jaydev Unadkat, Umesh Yadav, Rahul Sharma and Varun Aaron.

The Working Committee also approved in princIPLe the proposal that a certain portion of the gate income of the Indian Premier League (IPL) playoffs will be awarded as benefit for retired cricketers.

A committee has been appointed to work out the modalities.

The Working Committee also appointed Evan Speechly as the physiotherapist of the national team for a period of two years.

He will join the team for the third Test between India and West Indies.


Comment on this story